The lowest cultural denominator

I don’t like television much. This isn’t to say that I am against the programmes that appear on it, rather I feel that it is a waste of life and energy to sit down at a certain place at a certain time to watch whatever is on. People tend to become slaves to their favourite channels’ schedules, spending countless hours programming videos and countless more in the perpetual stress of whether this was done right. At least when people worried about the gas being left on it was because you’re house was in jeopardy.

David Byrne once said that the ideal television show would be either 30 seconds or 8 hours long, and with that in mind comes this, the sublime opening sequence to Japan’s own Cowboy Bebop. The sequence is so powerful that the show wanes behind it, but that’s no bad thing. It’s possibly the best opening to a TV show ever, with the possible exception of the Pink Panther cartoons. What the show is about doesn’t really matter – this just hits you in the face and takes you with it.

Naturally there are other curios to be found when looking at such things. My favourite show theme of all time is Sam’s Bar (Where Everybody Knows Your Name) from Cheers, and was pleased to find the following video of a middle aged man doing a solo rendition on classical guitar.

No amount of talent can excuse this though.

And thus the “TV Is Shit Culture” argument comes full circle.

4 thoughts on “The lowest cultural denominator

  1. While I love watching various tv shows on DVD, I really don’t miss having a working tv aerial. I was never one of those people whose whole lives revolve around the tv schedule, but I did find that I’d watch a lot of crap just because it was on. DVDs are a much better way of watching tv.

  2. I know what you mean about the feeling obliged to sit down at a certain time, which is why I find the introduction of services such as 4OD and the BBC iplayer much better to fit round life. It just makes everything so flexible. Although I hear the BBC are having some kind of issue about planning to broadcast live on the internet AND justify the license fee…

    and I loved the cowboy bebop vid 🙂

  3. You know this post just made me think. I don’t actually watch a lot of TV at all.

    It’s on all the time, but I think the only 2 programmes I actually watch at the moment are Top Gear and Spooks. Which makes me wonder why the TV is on all the time if ‘,I never really watching it.

    When I was at uni I didn’t have a TV for 4 years and I didn’t miss it at all.

  4. Hello there!

    I love television. I was a hopeless addict for years. There was a time in my teens where I was able to list a night’s worth of programming for each day of the week. I’ve gotten it under control now, but still watch quite a bit, but in a more unconventional sense. I think DVDs, the internet and DVRs are completely killing the notion of the “schedule slave”, since viewers can watch shows anytime, anyplace.

    Also: Cowboy Bebop’s opening credits are pretty amazing. I should add that to my list of shows to watch online!

Leave a Reply

